top of page


Gunatrayavibhaaga Yog (The Yoga of the Differentiation of the Three Modes of Nature) 


The chapter 14 study classes will cover: 


•The four topics addressed in this chapter. The first is in what way and on whose support does prakruti (nature) gives birth to all creatures? The second question is what are the modes of prakruti (nature) and how do these modes cause bondage for a person? The third question is what is the solution to become free from the modes of prakruti (nature)? And the fourth is what are the qualities of those people who have become liberated from the modes of prakruti (nature) and who have attained the state of being free from the modes?


•The qualities of one who has transgressed beyond the modes of nature that are sattva (goodness), rajas (passion) and tamas (dullness).


•How the Supreme Soul casts His seed in all wombs. The four types of wombs: jarāyuja (covered with placenta), andaja (from eggs), svedaja (from sweat) and udhheja (sprouting from the earth).


•A guide to the three modes (gunas) of nature: goodness (sattva), passion (rajas), and dullness (tamas). The differences between them, their purposes, Godly representations, natures, tendencies, scientific qualities and parts of an atom. How it is a principle of geometry that to have any closed figure you need a minimum of three straight lines.


•How the mode of goodness (sattva) is pure, causes illumination and is free from faults. How it binds by attachment to happiness and by attachment to knowledge.


•How the mode of passion (rajas) is of the nature of attraction; springing from craving and attachment. How it binds fast the embodied one by attachment to action.


•How dullness (tamas) is born of ignorance and deludes all embodied beings. How it binds by (developing the qualities of) procrastination, indolence and sleep.


•How to achieve good and effective sleep: a study of how Lord Mahavir used to sleep. 


•How goodness attaches one to happiness, passion in action, but dullness, veiling wisdom, attaches to negligence.


•A study of the Srimad Bhagavad about the 10 agents, means, causes and reasons that can increase the amounts of each of the modes of nature.


•A study of Keet-Bramar-Nyaya (how the cockroach keeps biting the worm) and its importance as an example of attitude towards meditation.


•A study of the 16 samskār (holy moments during one's life) in Indian culture.


•A study of the last moment's in the life of the atheist philosopher Burtrand Russell.


•Why gods, human beings and animals can experience the consequences of karmas but only human beings can perform karmas.


•A study of the types of godly, human or animal bodies souls can be reborn into and the process as to how this takes place.


•From the fact that we have been born as human beings, how we can tell what our previous lives have been like.


•Swami Ramakrishna Parahamsa's story of the prince and the three thieves about how to become free from the three modes of nature.


•The characteristics of a person who has become gunātit (beyond the three modes of nature). The seven steps of the path of Yoga as described in the Yog Vashishta Ramayan.


•The six types of wealth.


•How not to let small things disturb you in life. A story from the life of the Zen saint Rinjay about how the modes of nature are always acting on the modes.


•How to regard pain and pleasure as alike, how to dwell in one's own self, how one can look upon a clod, a stone, a piece of gold as of equal worth, how one can remain the same amidst the pleasant and the unpleasant things, how one can be firm of mind, and how one can regard both blame and praise as one.


You can watch all of the chapter 14 videos by clicking on the below links next to the verse numbers:


Chapter 14 introduction:


Chapter 14 verse 1:


Chapter 14 verse 2: coming soon


Chapter 14 verse 3:


Chapter 14 verse 4:


Chapter 14 verse 5:


Chapter 14 verse 6: 


Chapter 14 verse 7: 


Chapter 14 verse 8: 


Chapter 14 verse 9: 


Chapter 14 verse 10: 


Chapter 14 verse 11: 


Chapter 14 verse 12: 


Chapter 14 verse 13: 


Chapter 14 verse 14:


Chapter 14 verse 15: 


Chapter 14 verse 16: 


Chapter 14 verse 17: 


Chapter 14 verse 18: 


Chapter 14 verse 19: 


Chapter 14 verse 20: 


Chapter 14 verse 21: 


Chapter 14 verse 22: 


Chapter 14 verse 23: 


Chapter 14 verse 24: 


Chapter 14 verse 25: 


Chapter 14 verse 26: 


Chapter 14 verse 27:


bottom of page