top of page

Bhagavad Gita Online Class 129

How, when and in what circumstances the scriptures should be followed in determining which actions we undertake in life and the nine types of shradha (faith) (chapter 17 verses 1 to 9) 


 •The nine types of shradhā (faith) within three categories: sangajā (of company), shāstrajā (of scriptures) and svabhāvajā (of nature).


•The faith of every individual is in accordance with his nature.  Man is of the nature of his faith: what his faith is, that, verily, he is.


•The difference between material shradhā (faith), Dharmic shradhā (faith) and Godly shradhā (faith).


•Not just human beings but also in animals, birds, insects, trees, plants and leaves you can see one thing in common, which is that each and every person considers someone or the other to be bigger than them.


•Why good people worship the gods, the passionate worship the demigods and the demons and the others (who are) the dull, worship the spirits and ghosts.


•Vain and conceited people impelled by the force of lust and passion, perform violent austerities, which are not ordained by the scriptures and just according to what they feel like.  Being foolish they oppress the group of elements in their body and God also dwelling in the body. 


•Food and re-creation should be restrained. If you perform a fast of Ekadashi every 11 days then this is fine. Even Ayurveda says that langhanam paramoshatam (a fast every two weeks rejuvenates the body). But if a person is always performing a fast and is drying his body out and torturing his body then this is a demonic resolve; this is what Shree Krushna says.


Chapter 17 introduction:


Chapter 17 verse 1:


Chapter 17 verse 2:


Chapter 17 verse 3:


Chapter 17 verse 4:


Chapter 17 verses 5 and 6:


Chapter 17 verse 7:


Chapter 17 verse 8:


Chapter 17 verse 9:


bottom of page