Bhagavad Gita classes


Jai ShreeKrushna!


Class 54: The four types of devotees that come to God (chapter 7 verses 16 to 17)
  • The four types of devotees who come to God: the person in distress, the seeker for knowledge, the seeker for wealth and the person of wisdom.
  • The rule in Sanskrit of why we talk about rogues first and then about our loved ones.
  • Shridhar's definitions of people who are virtuous ones.
  • Examples of devotees in distress: the story of Gajendra in the Shrimad Bhagavad and the story of Draupadi in the Shrimad Bhagavad.
  • The famous verse in the Mahabharata containing Draupadi's arguments before the Kauravas tried to strip her and ShreeKrushna saved her.
  • The importance of efforts with faith. A study of the Advaita Siddhi and Bhakti Rasayan Granth of Madhusudhan Saraswati, and the story of how a pair of small birds took on the mighty ocean and won.
  • The characteristics of a seeker of knowledge and the definition of curiosity.
  • The story of Dhruv of the Shrimad Bhagavad and Vibheeshan of the Ramayan.
  • Swami Ramsukhdas' story of a father and four children showing how the person of wisdom is the greatest out of all the devotees. Why a gnyāni (the person of wisdom) is ikshar (the perishable), akshar (the imperishable) and Purushottam (the best among people).
  • Two qualifications to be a gnyāni (the man of wisdom): one who is in constant union with the Divine and one who is devotion is single-minded.
  • What is bhakti (devotion)? The story of a person lost in a jungle who met a great Saint.
  • How to have single-minded devotion.
  • Circumstances will come in your life where you do not know whether what you have to do is right or wrong. A study of the book "Glimpses of World History" and the test of how to tell whether to tell whether the action is right or wrong.
Chapter 7 verse 16:

Chapter 7 verse 17:



Content copyright . GITACLASS.ORG. All rights reserved.