Bhagavad Gita classes


Jai ShreeKrushna!


Class 106: A study of the 81 different types of ahimsa (non-violence) and how we can apply them in our lives. The first set of qualities of gnyan (wisdom):  humility (absence of pride), integrity (absence of deceit), non-violence, patience, uprightness, service of the teacher, purity (of body and mind), steadfastness and self-control (chapter 13 verses 6 to 7) 
  • The seven modifications of the field and how they can develop or destroy a person's antakaran (inner being): desire and hatred, pleasure and pain, the aggregate (the organism), intelligence and steadfastness.
  • A study of the six schools of thought in Sanathan Dharma: Samkhya, Yoga, Nyāya, Vaisheshika, Mimāmsā and Vedanta.
  • Why the Vaisheshika school of thought considers the modifications to be the qualities of the soul and the Dharma of the soul.
  • Why the root of desire is a feeling of pleasure. How does a desire become manifested?
  • The two types of desires: those that result in pleasures and those that destroy sorrows.
  • A study of hatred and where it comes from.
  • The definition of pleasures from Lord Pārāshār in the Pārāshār Gita in the Māhābhārata.
  • The first time the word sanghāta (cluster) is used in the Gita to refer to the body. A study of the 24 substances that the sanghāta (cluster) of the body is made up of.
  • A study of Nilkanth's definition of consciousness.
  • How the five great gross elements support each other and why steadfastness is needed.
  • Why all the modifications are in the kshetra (the field) but not in the kshetragna (the knower).
  • An introduction to the 20 qualities of gnyān (wisdom) described in five verses. How the Saint of Maharastra called Gnāneshwar wrote 700 verses as commentary on these five verses.
  • A study of the nine qualities of gnyān (wisdom) described in the ninth verse: humility (absence of pride), integrity (absence of deceit), non-violence, patience, uprightness, service of the teacher, purity (of body and mind), steadfastness and self-control.
  • Ramanunjacharyaji's definition of humility.
  • Why the Vishnu Purana says that a Yogi who gets insulted by people all who is criticised by people, instantly attains siddhi (spiritual powers).
  • A study of three names of Vishnu in the Vishnu Sahasra (the thousand names of Vishnu).
  • A study of Shrimad Adi Shankracharya's definition of ahimsā (non-violence).
  • The reason for violence is barbarity, the reason for barbarity is anger and the reason for anger is desire.
  • The three types of violence: bodily violence, mental violence and self destruction.
  • The peak of non-violence as shown in the Patanjali Yog Darshan: a true non-violent person and a true wise person is one in whose presence even wild animals forget their venom towards each other.
  • The 81 types of violence and how to avoid them.
  • The qualities of an Āchārya (teacher) as described in the Vishnu Purana.
  • Madhusudhan Saraswati's explanation of the four things that inner purity comes from.
  • A study of Patanjali's Yog Sutra of the five things one attains after getting inner purity.
Chapter 13 verse 6: 

Chapter 13 verse 7: 

Content copyright 2014. WWW.GITACLASS.ORG. All rights reserved.